The following persons have been nominated for the election of a Mayor for the West Midlands Combined Authority on Thursday 4th May 2017:

  • James Burn – Green Party
  • Pete Durnell – UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Beverley Anne Nielsen – Liberal Democrats
  • Sion Llewelyn Simon – Labour and Co-operative Party
  • Graham John Stevenson – Communist
  • Andy Street – Conservative Party

Polling stations will be open from 7AM to 10PM on the day.

Further information on the election can be found at

Anyone wishing to vote must first be registered to do so – and the deadline for registration is 13 April 2017.

After this date, anyone who has not registered will not be able to vote in the West Midlands Mayoral election on 4 May, meaning they cannot have a say in the democratic process.

Anyone who has not yet registered to vote can do so online at and it only takes a few minutes.

Online registration is a more secure system of registration which was introduced in 2014 to replace the old Victorian system where the “head of household” registered everyone living in a property. Now, each individual is responsible for registering themselves.